You are here


On Display

"Peters/Waterman-Peters: Selections" — an exhibit by Barbara Waterman-Peters and Larry Peters

Now on exhibit through Thursday, November 3, 2016

“Peters/Waterman-Peters: Selections,” an exhibit by Barbara Waterman-Peters and Larry Peters of Topeka, will be featured in The Gallery at Sams Hall of Fine Arts at Kansas Wesleyan University from October 3 through November 3, 2016. The exhibit features a selection of the paintings of Waterman-Peters and ceramic and mixed-media work of Peters.

Barbara Waterman-Peters utilizes archetypes to tell her story, drawing on wisdom, mythology, proverbs, fairy tales and religion. With a history of focusing on the stories of women, she has recently expanded her work to include a focus on men as well. Currently, she is working on a series of work called “Ship of Fools,” which examines social and environmental issues.

Waterman-Peters, received a B.F.A. from Washburn University, an M.F.A. from Kansas State University, and an Honorary Doctorate of Fine Arts from Washburn University. Her award-winning work is displayed in museums, as well as in corporate and private collections. She taught at Washburn and Kansas State. She is a founding member of STUDIO 831 in Topeka. Currently, she writes about artists for Topeka and Lawrence magazines and also illustrates books.

Larry Peters alternates between functional and sculptural ceramics and mixed-media collage. A new series called “Fetish Jars” explores various ideas incorporating birds as lid handles. His mixed-media collages are inspired by readings on the Holocaust.

SPECIAL EVENT: Reception, Thursday October 13, 5–7 p.m. The artists, Barbara Waterman-Peters and Larry Peters will be present at the reception to discuss their work; drinks and snacks will be provided.


Grace Peterson
Monday, November 7 — Wednesday, December 14
First Friday Reception: Friday, December 2, 5-7 p.m.

Robert Joy
Monday, January 9 — Wednesday, February 15

Lori Wright and Neil Ward Installation
Monday, Feb 20 — Wednesday, March 29
First Friday Reception: Friday, March 3, 5-7 p.m.

Student Exhibition/Senior Showcase
Wednesday, April 5 — Wednesday, May 3
Reception and awards: Friday, April 7, 5-7 p.m.


Monday — Friday 9 a.m.–7 p.m., weekends by appointment

For more information, contact Peggy Medina, Gallery Director at

Or call 785-833-4383