You are here

Exhibits

On Display

"Unraveling an Abstraction: Concept, Components, Creation" - Ruth Moritz

Now on exhibit through Wednesday, September 28, 2016

“Unraveling and Abstraction: Concept, Components, Creation” an exhibit by Ruth Moritz is currently featured in The Gallery at Sams Hall of Fine Arts at Kansas Wesleyan University. The exhibit in The Gallery takes the viewer through the process of creating art by sharing the artist’s journey from concept to final product. In addition, an outside installation will be featured on the south side of the Sams Hall of Fine Arts building. The installation entitled, “Exposure2” is a series of photographic subjects removed from their original context and presented anew in banner format. Extracted from a daily photographic journal, they are both real and surreal—freeze frame shots caught in new light.

Ruth Moritz is an installation and graphic artist, writer, and educator. Ruth combines assemblage, text, photography and painting in her installation work which has been featured at the Salina Art Center, the Stiefel Gallery, the Rhatigan Gallery at Wichita State University, the Fiber Studio in Wichita, the Visual Voices Gallery, and the Lincoln Art Center. Ruth has conducted art and writing workshops for numerous arts agencies and educational institutions throughout the state. She has been involved as a visiting artist in the schools for Salina Arts and Humanities Commission, as a mentor in the Artist Exchange program at the Salina Arts Center, and as an Exhibition Selection Committee member at the Salina Arts Center. She has permanent public art installations at both Meadowlark and Cottonwood Elementary Schools and has displayed large graphic work and photography the past four years at the Smoky Hill River Festival. She has a B.A. in Fine Arts from K-State and an M.F.A. in Creative Writing from WSU. She is currently a full-time instructor of English at Kansas Wesleyan University.

COMING SOON

Barbara Waterman Peters and Larry Peters
Monday, October 3 — Thursday, November 3
Reception: Thursday, October 13, 5-7 p.m.

Grace Peterson
Monday, November 7 — Wednesday, December 14
First Friday Reception: Friday, December 2, 5-7 p.m.

Robert Joy
Monday, January 9 — Wednesday, February 15

Lori Wright and Neil Ward Installation
Monday, Feb 20 — Wednesday, March 29
First Friday Reception: Friday, March 3, 5-7 p.m.

Student Exhibition/Senior Showcase
Wednesday, April 5 — Wednesday, May 3
Reception and awards: Friday, April 7, 5-7 p.m.

GALLERY HOURS

Monday — Friday 9 a.m.–7 p.m., weekends by appointment

For more information, contact Peggy Medina, Gallery Director at peggy.medina@kwu.edu

Or call 785-833-4383