Four New KWU Board Members

You are here

KWU Elects Four New Board of Trustees Members, Four More Re-Elected

On Saturday, June 18, 2016, the Kansas Wesleyan University Board of Trustees held its board meeting, and four new board members were elected to a three-year term, effective July 1, 2016. They join a distinguished group of 20 civic and business leaders who set the future of the university.

KWU welcomes to the board Charlie Ault-Duell ’05 of Salina, KS; Rafael Mendez ’06 of Bentonville, AR; Jerry Norton ’59 of River Forest, IL; and Mary Quinley M.B.A. ’98 of Salina.

Ault-Duell and Mendez were at KWU together for three years, serving as campus student leaders.  Both are pleased to be joining the Board and serving together for the benefit of their alma mater. 

“We are so fortunate to have these four individuals join our KWU family. They have each demonstrated leadership in their respective areas and a dedication to our campus. They will make great additions to our Board of Trustees,” said Kansas Wesleyan President and CEO, Matt Thompson, Ph.D.

In addition, four Trustees were elected to an additional three-year term on the Board. They are Charlie Grimwood of Fort Collins, CO; Byron Norris ’72 and Steve Rivers ’85, both of Salina; and Glenn Tombaugh ’74 of Wichita. Two outgoing Trustees were recognized and thanked for their service. They are M. Luci Larson of Salina, who served six years, and Donna L. McKinley ’66 of Broomfield, CO, who served nine years, including three years as Board Secretary and three years as Board Treasurer.


 Charlie Ault-Duell

Charlie Ault-Duell ’05 is an attorney with the Salina law firm of Norton, Wasserman, Jones & Kelly, LLC. He received his Bachelor of Arts in History from KWU and earned his Juris Doctorate from Washburn University.

  Rafael Mendez

Rafael Mendez ’06 is currently Senior Director of Acosta Sales & Marketing. He received his Bachelor of Arts in Business Administration and Accounting from KWU and earned his Juris Doctorate from Washburn University.

  Jerry Norton

Jerry Norton ’59 retired in July 2015 from a long career as a law professor. He taught for four years at Chicago-Kent College of Law and 44 years at Loyola University Chicago School of Law. He received his Bachelor of Arts in Social Science from KWU and earned his Juris Doctorate from Washburn University. Norton previously served nine years on the KWU Board of Trustees.

  Mary Quinley

Mary Quinley M.B.A. ’98 is a Registered Nurse and Director of Inpatient Medical at Salina Regional Health Center. She received a Bachelor of Science in Nursing from Marymount College and earned a Master of Business Administration from KWU. Quinley is an active volunteer in the Salina community.

Board Officers elected for the 2016–17 fiscal year were:

Chair: Charles G. Grimwood of Fort Collins, CO

Immediate Past Chair: Randall St. Clair ’66 of Parkville, MO

Vice-Chair:  Emily May Richards of Atlanta, GA

Treasurer: Steven B. Michel of Salina, KS

Secretary: Jeff Bieber of Castle Rock, CO

The Kansas Wesleyan University Board of Trustees meets every four months. The essential function of the KWU Board of Trustees shall be policy making and assurance of sound management. The Board has initial and ultimate responsibility in determining general, educational, financial and related policies deemed necessary for the administration and development of Kansas Wesleyan University in accordance with its stated purposes and goals.