You are here

Music Faculty

At Kansas Wesleyan University, our music faculty is dedicated to fostering each student's growth and development as a musician and as a person. Students who study music at KWU have access to an outstanding, experienced music faculty in a personalized and caring small-class setting.


Dr. Milt Allen | Department Chair

Karen Babcock-Brassea | Director of Theatre & Music Theatre

Dr. Anne Gassmann | Director: Vocal Area; Director of Choirs

Dr. Jesse Henkensiefken | Director: Strings Area; Director of Orchestras

Dr. Carl Rowles | Director of Winds-Brass-Percussion Area; Director of Bands

Dr. Tatianna Tessman | Artist in Residence; Director of Keyboard Studies

Tetyana Allston | Accompanist

Adjunct Faculty

Dr. Bill Backlin, Piano

Nancy Bauer, Elementary Music Methods

Douglas Beyer, Violin, Viola

Laura Black, Violin

Denise Blehm, Violin

Benjamin Beggs, Bass

Jeren Francois, Clarinet, Saxophone

Dean Kranzler, Director of Percussion Ensemble, Percussion

Steve Lueth, Jazz Ensemble, Music Theory, Low Brass

Linda Rohrer, Elementary Music Methods

Hilary Shepard, Flute

Bill Tuzicka, Music Education