Experience the Arts at KWU

You are here

2015-16 Fine Arts Calendar

August

Tuesday, August 18–Friday, September 11 | "Potpourri: A Mixture of Incongruous or Disparate Elements" by artist Lee Becker | weekdays 9 a.m.–7 p.m., weekends by appointment | The Gallery, Sams Hall of Fine Arts
Saturday, August 29 | Youth Symphony Audition | Pioneer Hall 215, Sams Chapel
Sunday, August 30 | Youth Symphony Audition | Pioneer Hall 215, Sams Chapel

September

Thursday, September 3 | First Thursday Reception with artist Lee Becker | "Potpourri: A Mixture of Incongruous or Disparate Elements" | 5–7 p.m. | The Gallery, Sams Hall of Fine Arts 
Saturday, September 12 | KWU Double Reed Day | All Day | Sams Chapel, Pioneer Hall159
Monday, September 21–Friday, October 23 | "The Last Few Years: Found Images by Tom Dorsey for the Salina Journal" | weekdays 9 a.m.–7 p.m., weekends by appointment | The Gallery, Sams Hall of Fine Arts
Friday, September 25 | String Music Learning Day| 8 a.m.-2 p.m. | Sams Chapel, Pioneer Hall 159 & 215
Wednesday, September 30 | KWU District / State Music Learning Day | 8 a.m.-2 p.m. | Sams Chapel, Pioneer Hall 159 & 215
Wednesday, September 30 | Fall Theatre Production "Leaving Iowa" | 7:30 p.m. | Fitzpatrick Auditorium, Sams Hall of Fine Arts

October

Thursday, October 1 | First Thursday Reception | "The Last Few Years: Found Images by Tom Dorsey for the Salina Journal" | 5–7 p.m. | The Gallery, Sams Hall of Fine Arts
Thursday, October 1 | Fall Theatre Production "Leaving Iowa" | 7:30 p.m. | Fitzpatrick Auditorium, Sams Hall of Fine Arts
Friday, October 2 | Meet and Greet with Tom Dorsey | 9–10 a.m. | The Gallery, Sams Hall of Fine Arts
Friday, October 2 | Fall Theatre Production "Leaving Iowa" | 7:30 p.m. | Fitzpatrick Auditorium, Sams Hall of Fine Arts
Saturday, October 3 | Homecoming Showcase Concert | 1:30 p.m. | Sams Chapel | Band, Choir, Orchestra 
Saturday, October 3 | Fall Theatre Production "Leaving Iowa" | 7:30 p.m. | Fitzpatrick Auditorium, Sams Hall of Fine Arts
Sunday, October 4 | Salina Symphony Season Opener | 4 p.m. | Stiefel Theatre, Salina
Sunday, October 4 | Fall Theatre Production "Leaving Iowa" | 7:30 p.m. | Fitzpatrick Auditorium, Sams Hall of Fine Arts

November

Monday, November 2–Friday, December 11 | Community Exhibition (TBA) | weekdays 9 a.m.–7 p.m., weekends by appointment | The Gallery, Sams Hall of Fine Arts
Thursday, November 5 | First Thursday Reception - Community Exhibition (TBA) | 5–7 p.m. | The Gallery, Sams Hall of Fine Arts
Sunday, November 8 | Salina Symphony Concert  | 4 p.m. | Stiefel
Thursday, November 12 | Jazz Band/Percussion Ensemble Concert | 7:30 Pp.m. | Sams Chapel
Sunday, November 15 | Salina Youth Symphony Concert | 4 p.m. | Stiefel Theatre, Salina
Monday, November 16 | Band/Orchestra Concert | 7:30 p.m. | Sams Chapel

December

Tuesday, December 2 | Vocal Solo Concert | 7:30 p.m. | University United Methodist Church
Sunday, December 6  | Christmas By Candlelight | 3 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. | Sams Chapel
Wednesday, December 9 | Piano Recital |7:30 p.m. | Sams Chapel
Saturday, December 12 | Salina Symphony Christmas Concert | 7:30 p.m. | Stiefel Theatre, Salina
Sunday, December 13 | Salina Symphony Christmas Concert | 4 p.m. | Stiefel Theatre, Salina

January

Monday, January 12–Friday, March 11 | Brent Engstrom Exhibit (TBA) | weekdays 9 a.m.–7 p.m., weekends by appointment | The Gallery, Sams Hall of Fine Arts
Sunday, January 31 | Salina Symphony Concert with KWU Faculty Artists Tatiana Tessman and Rebecca Copley |
 4 p.m. | Stiefel Theatre

February

Date to be announced | Reception - Brent Engstrom Exhibit (TBA) | 5–7 p.m. | The Gallery, Sams Hall of Fine Arts
Friday, February 5-Sunday, February 7 | Border Wars: College Debate/Forensics Competition | All Day
Saturday, Feb. 6 | KWU Band Festival | All Day | Sams Chapel
Saturday, Feb. 6 | Wind Ensemble Concert | 7:30 p.m. | Sams Chapel
Sunday, Feb 7  | KWU Band Festival | 1:30 p.m. Festival Concert | Sams  Chapel
Tuesday, Feb. 23 |  Band/Orchestra Concert | 7:30 p.m. | Sams Chapel

March

Wednesday, March 2| KWU Middle Level Contest | All day
Saturday, March 5| Salina Symphony Concert | 7:30 p.m.| Stiefel Theatre, Salina
Tuesday, March 8 | Salina Choral Festival | 7:30 p.m. | Stiefel Theatre, Salina
Thursday, March 10-Tuesday, March15 | Choir Tour (TBA)
Tuesday, March 22 | Choir Home Concert | 7:30 p.m. | University United Methodist Church
Tuesday, March 29-Friday, April 1 | KWU International String Festival

April

Thursday-Sunday, April 7-10  | Into the Woods with Salina Community Theatre | SCT, Salina
Thursday-Friday, April 14-15 | Into the Woods with Salina Community Theatre | SCT, Salina
Tuesday, April 19 | Jazz Band Percussion Ensemble Concert | 7:30 p.m. | Sams Chapel 
Thursday-Sunday, April 21-24 | Into the Woods with Salina Community Theatre | SCT, Salina
Saturday, April 23 | 2A State Music Festival | All Day
Tuesday, April 26 | Spring Pops Concert – SAC | 7:30 PM | Sams Chapel
Friday, April 29 | KSHSAA Speech Drama Festival | 3-5 p.m. | Fitzpatrick Auditorium
Friday, April 29 | Spring Vocal Concert | 7:30 p.m. | University United Methodist Church
Saturday, April 30 | KSHSAA Speech Drama Festival | All Day | Student Activities Center 

May

Sunday, May 1| Symphony Concert 4 p.m. | Stiefel Theatre, Salina
Thursday, May 5 | Senior Showcase Exhibition Reception & Remarks | 5-7 p.m. | The Gallery, Sams Hall of Fine Arts
Thursday, May 5 | Piano Recital | 7:30 p.m. | Sams Chapel