Skip to content
Kansas Wesleyan University

/sites/default/files/M%20Gonzales%20Photo_0.jpg” alt=”Michael Gonzalez, new board member” width=”145″ height=”173″ style=”float: left; margin: 5px; border: 1px solid black;” />

/sites/default/files/Marilyn%20Foster%20Kirk.jpg” width=”113″ height=”170″ style=”margin: 5px; border: 1px solid black; vertical-align: baseline;” />/sites/default/files/BillMccreary.jpeg” width=”124″ height=”171″ style=”border: 1px solid black; margin: 5px; vertical-align: baseline;” />/sites/default/files/Michel%2C%20Steve.JPG” width=”172″ height=”172″ style=”margin: 5px; border: 1px solid black; vertical-align: baseline;” />

(Pictured above: Michael Gonzales, Marilyn Kirk, William McCreary, Ph.D., Steve Michel)

Four new members were recently elected to serve three-year terms on the Kansas Wesleyan Board of Trustees: Michael P. Gonzales, Marilyn K. Kirk, Steven B. Michel and Dr. William McCreary. They will join a distinguished group of 21 civic and business leaders that oversees the university and sets its future goals and priorities.

Gonzales, a resident of Overland Park, KS, is a senior HR consultant with Savantage Solutions. A 1984 graduate of Kansas Wesleyan University, Gonzales earned a Master of Social Policy from American University. He spent the majority of his career working for the USDA in the military.

Kirk, a resident of Evanston, IL, has had a robust career in higher education with more than 35 years of experience in student affairs, fundraising and development. A 1968 graduate of Kansas Wesleyan University, Kirk earned a Doctorate of Educational Leadership & Policy Studies from the University of Kansas.

McCreary, a resident of Salt Lake City, UT, is the retired Associate Dean of Finance, Development & HR at the University of Utah. A 1969 graduate of Kansas Wesleyan University, McCreary pursued graduate studies at the University of Oklahoma and earned a Doctorate of Psychology from Pacifica Graduate Institute

Michel, a resident of Salina, KS, is the retired President and Chairman of the Board of First Bank Kansas. Michel previously served on the KWU Board from 2009 through 2018. He earned a Bachelor of Science degree from Fort Hays State University.

“We are so fortunate to have these four individuals as trustees,” said Kansas Wesleyan President & CEO, Dr. Matt Thompson. “They have each demonstrated leadership in their respective careers and communities, as well as a dedication to our campus. I am grateful for their commitment to KWU; they will be great additions to our Board of Trustees.”

The elections were held during the Board’s annual summer meetings, June 20-22. Six Trustees were also elected to an additional three-year term on the Board: Charlie Ault-Duell (KWU 2005) of Salina, KS; Jerry Norton (KWU 1959) of River Forest, IL; Rafael Mendez (KWU 2006) of Bentonville, AZ; Mary Quinley (KWU 1998) of Salina, KS; Byron Norris (KWU 1972) of Salina, KS; and Glenn Tombaugh (KWU 1974) of Wichita, KS. Also, D. Kent Lambert (KWU 1972) of Salina, KS, was elected for his second term (five years) as Trustee Emeritus.

The following officers for 2019-20 were also elected:

Chair: Jeffrey H. Bieber (KWU 1971), Castle Rock, CO
Immediate Past Chair: Emily-May Richards, Peoria, AZ
Vice-Chair: Barry Weis (KWU 2010), Salina, KS
Treasurer: Jon Starks, Salina, KS
Secretary: Jane A. Philbrick (KWU 1980), Goodland, KS

In addition, two trustees were recognized for their service: Dr. Charles G. Grimwood, Fort Collins, CO, for serving nine years on the Board, including two years as the Board Chair; and Jeremiah Webb (KWU 2003), Glendale, CA, for serving four years on the Board.

The Kansas Wesleyan Board of Trustees meets three times a year. The essential function of the Kansas Wesleyan University Board of Trustees is policy making and assurance of sound management. The Board has initial and ultimate responsibility in determining general, educational, financial, and related policies deemed necessary for the administration and development of Kansas Wesleyan University in accordance with its stated purposes and goals.

The Kansas Wesleyan University Foundation (KWUF) announces Thomas R. Wilbur as the newest member elected to the Board, effective Monday, July 1. Wilbur joins current members, Ken Ebert (Chair) and Dennis Berndt of Salina; Theresa Kepple of Castle Rock, CO; Robert Meyer of Olathe, KS, and Steve Scofield of Belleville, KS.

Wilbur, a resident of Salina, Kansas, is the Managing Partner of Wilbur Development, LLC. and brings a wealth of experience and leadership in the banking field to the Foundation Board.

President Thompson expressed his appreciation to Wilbur. “I appreciate Tom’s commitment to our work and mission and serving the long-term interests of Kansas Wesleyan and our students,” said Dr. Thompson.

Officers elected for 2019-20:
Chair: Ken Ebert, Salina, KS
Vice Chair: Robert Meyer, Olathe, KS
Administrator: Ken Oliver, Senior Development Director, KWU
Treasurer: Steve Scofield, Belleville, KS
Secretary: Jan Shirk, Executive Assistant to President, KWU

The KWUF is organized for education purposes and is to be a supporting association for the financial aid and assistance of Kansas Wesleyan University. For more information about the Foundation Board, contact Ken Oliver, Senior Development Director/Foundation Administrator.